muchmorewherethatcamefrom

Easter

In Christianity, Food, Peanut on April 21, 2011 at 3:02 pm

Things have been crazy-busy here at Casa Much, so just a short post today to commemorate the importance of this weekend to us and to millions of Christians around the world.  The death of Christ on Good Friday has been brought to life in many books and movies (remember The Passion of the Christ?  Too bad Mel Gibson turned out to be clinically nutso) in a way the oral tradition never could, and I think we’re lucky to have them.  It’s humbling and sobering to remember the depth of Jesus’ suffering and to realize that we were both the cause and the reason. 

When I was growing up in my home church, we had a 6-hour Good Friday service each year that was, if I am to be completely honest, painfully interminable.  The church was packed, so you were hot and sweaty, starving, bored out of your mind and annoyed that you weren’t at home watching daytime TV.  At least two people passed out from the heat and the endless standing/kneeling every year (which did break the monotony for the rest of us, but was rather unfortunate for them.)  I remember my mom telling me that it was good for us to have some small measure of inconvenience and obligation to remind us of the large degree of suffering that Christ went through for us.  Now that we live far away and don’t have a church with that kind of Good Friday service, I have to admit that the import of the occasion doesn’t hit home for me in quite the same way.  Lent, and the sacrifice of something you enjoy in the weeks leading up to it (for us this year it’s been meat), is supposed to remind you of the season, but too often I focus on the specifics of scrounging together a vegetarian lunch (can you substitute tofu in a turkey sandwich?) and totally miss the forest for the trees.  

But despite that, Easter Sunday will come, and with it the remembrance of Christ’s rising on the third day and the fact that joy and salvation from sin has been earned for every one of us.  For me, and you, and everyone else.  What a gift, and all we have to do is accept it.  That, too, is humbling — and wonderful too.  Hope you all have a celebratory weekend!  (I plan to enjoy a good Cadbury Easter egg while hypocritically instructing the Peanut that candy is bad for you, so here’s some celery.)  Happy Easter!

  1. Beautiful post, Much. I would also hope that your Easter celebrations include enjoying a big slice of your meat of choice, given your Lenten deprivation. As for me, while I’d like to think I’ll spend a lot of time catching up on all the facebook I’ve missed out on during Lent, I really haven’t missed it all that much. Oh, well.

    Really, though, I love what your mother told you about the interminable services of your childhood. I know the entire experience of giving something up or adding something new for Lent is supposed to help us focus on the true meaning of the season, but I find it kind of hard to sustain my focus that long (embarrassing, I know). The lady who used to watch us as children told me that Jesus is believed to have died at 3 p.m. on Good Friday. I have no idea how accurate that is, but I, as always, will be meditating on that tomorrow when 3 p.m. rolls around. I have also had this song (http://www.higherpraise.com/lyrics/love/love853189.htm) running through my head all week–on Sunday it will be true! What a wonderful occasion to celebrate!

    • I love that song too, Vric. And I would have to respectfully disagree about Facebook — I can’t imagine what exciting status updates you’ve missed in 40 days of absence! And I’m not even being tongue-in-cheek! It was great to see you yesterday, and looking forward to the next time.

  2. Dear Much,

    Praise our Lord for this post and more importantly, how He has developed your heart over the years. I still remember those long services you described and I love how Sarala Aunty so eloquently expressed what we needed to endure. I miss you and after reading this post, I am even more convinced that God is using your gift of writing to spread His love to others.

    Leena

    • Thanks for reading Leena! I miss you too and really cherish the relationships with God and each other that were developed in our home church. I’ve been to many, many churches since those days … some of them excellent … and none have had the same impact on my life as the church in which we grew up.

  3. Thank the Father for his compassion, death and resurrection.

  4. I second your thoughtful words. This season gives great perspective, beyond the sacrifices that we choose. For me, it was texting and driving (I shouldn’t be doing it anyway, and of course I made it a permanent sacrifice) and playing Angry Birds (if you don’t understand how it can be addictive and lead to playing the game at inappropriate times, then you have probably never played it). Being thankful and full of praise for the death and resurrection of Christ should be a daily occurrence, but I’m glad for this season when we all remember.

    P.S. I saw “Julie and Julia” recently. I think Amy Adams would do a great job playing you in the movie version of your blog.

    • Ollie, you crack me up! You have a great eye, because I cannot think of anyone who resembles me more than Amy Adams. But she’s always reminded me more of you, to be honest. Half the time I can’t tell you two apart.

      Texting and driving? See, Lent benefits us all! And I have yet to succumb to the drug-like trance of Angry Birds, a) because I already have enough obsessions to occupy my addled mind, and b) because I have seen what it has done to the previously smartphone-averse Tolkien, who after 4 days of owning a phone made after the year 1931 became clinically addicted to the stupid game. Seriously, now he can be found at any hour of the day or night giggling and whispering to himself triumphantly, “Angry Birds!”

      So a happy Easter to you!

  5. We are proud yet again honey,for using this forum to proclaim this ABSOLUTE truth!!Pretty soon little Pea Pea will be doing all those ‘kneelttings’, our new term for kneeling on all fours, touching your head on the floor and getting up immediately countless times as the chants demand,as you and baby Howie did for years.It is good for the soul and body.

Leave a Reply

