muchmorewherethatcamefrom

An Unexpected Journey

In Christianity, My thyroid on March 17, 2012 at 4:54 pm

My gynecologist’s office is one of those very nice doctors’ offices with very boring magazines. A few weeks ago I was sitting there waiting for a regular yearly well-woman checkup with absolutely nothing to read. That was because I was still slogging my way through M.F.K. Fisher’s The Art of Eating at the time, which is an endless 745 pages long and which I wasn’t going to carry around with me and risk herniating a disc for. So I was at the mercy of the waiting room reading material, which consisted of a December 2011 Sports Illustrated, a few issues of The Economist, and twenty-two Web M.D. Magazines, which if I’d read one I’d read them all. (Seriously. They were all copies of the same issue.) I spent the time mentally ordering the list of remaining errands I had to do that day before picking up Peanut, and I was already pre-emptively checking off that appointment as just another one of those errands. Until I got in the room, my gynecologist started her exam, and she told me she thought she felt a thyroid nodule.

I assumed the nodule would turn out to be either non-existent or a benign adenoma. I remember thinking “Man, this just set me up for 2 months of dates with the healthcare system for nothing.” Because now I was going to have to have an investigation, beginning with an ultrasound. Which, a month later, I did. The day after that, I got a voicemail from my gynecologist saying I needed to talk to my primary care physician. Two days after that, my PCP got me in to see an endocrinologist. Six days after that, I was lying on a table with a needle in my neck getting a biopsy. And five days after that, I got a call from my endocrinologist as I was driving. I pulled into the parking lot of a Dunkin’ Donuts so I could take it. It was the same Dunkin’ Donuts our real estate agent had taken us to for breakfast one morning two years ago when Tolkien and I were first moving to this city. I don’t know why that memory popped into my head, but these things are so strange. I remember fixing my eyes on the store’s brick wall as he told me the results, and oddly, I wasn’t even that surprised. All I could think about, over and over, was the same thing. I am 32 years old, and I have cancer.

I’ve suddenly joined a club I never imagined joining, but I guess no one ever does, right? I’ll post updates on this blog as we go through this experience. Right now, what we know is that the type of cancer I have — papillary carcinoma of the thyroid — is good, but the size is bad. We know I will have to have a thyroidectomy and radioactive iodine therapy afterwards. I’m meeting with two surgeons this week at two different hospitals and will hopefully choose one and get a date for surgery soon after. We will also hopefully find out more about prognosis and whether it has spread this week as well. Most importantly, I know that God is good. I know that the power of prayer is real. I know that the power of multiplied prayer is real. “For where two or three are gathered in My name, there am I among them.” — Matthew 18:20. I know that I’m blessed to have such wonderful people in my life, family and friends who are gathering as spiritual warriors to surround Tolkien, Peanut, my parents, Baby Howie, and I. If you are reading this, know that I would greatly appreciate your prayers too — and would be happy to do the same for you. I’ll post again soon … and to all of you, you know who you are, thank you!

  1. I was so excited to read one of your posts, but dear Peanuts mom, this is not what I expected to hear. I (we) will be praying for you as you go on a new type of journey. I believe in the power of prayer and like you emphasized, multiplied power of prayer. Keep posting, and know that you will be in our thoughts and prayers. Your writing will educate many already on this journey, and their loved ones, who want to help, but may not know where to start. Sending you lots of hugs and love!

  2. Lisa, I will be praying vigilantly about this!! Oh my gosh…so upset, but I know that you know God is faithful, and “No weapon formed against you shall prosper,” “He gives his angels charge over you to guard you in all your ways,” and “where two or more are gathered in His name, there I am in the midst of them.” He will see you through this. I know you are strong and courageous, but this is a tough one.
    I need to know…who Howie is?? Also, I am now on WordPress as well…follow me @ kerryperesta.com. Miss you guys. Hugs to your sweet daughter.

    • Kerry, thank you so much! I’m blessed to have the prayers of a woman in Christ like you. I appreciate your thoughts and prayers so much. I’ll be following you as well and I’m adding you to my blogroll. And as for Baby Howie, that’s my brother, who comments on this blog under the name t5maranello, and who you may remember is not a baby and is not named Howie. It was a natural pseudonym choice for him because of a secret talent of his, which he has long since retired (to the great loss of society), and that is the ability to impersonate the character “Baby Howie” on Full House to an uncanny degree. Tolkien and Peanut send their best.

  3. Romans 8:26-28

Leave a Reply

